LG UltraFine 27U730A — 27″ 4K over one USB-C cable, with 90 W charging
4K UHD 3840 × 2160USB-C with 90 W PD90% DCI-P35 W × 2 speakers
The LG UltraFine 27U730A is a 27-inch 4K UHD monitor built for desk work rather than gaming. Its defining feature is the USB-C port: one cable carries 3840 × 2160 video at 60 Hz, data for the two-port USB hub, and 90 W of Power Delivery back to a laptop, so a machine docks and charges with a single connection. The IPS panel covers 90% of DCI-P3, there are 5 W stereo speakers with Waves MaxxAudio processing built in, and the stand adjusts for height, tilt, swivel and pivot. It is a productivity monitor, and the specification below is clear about where that shows.
Compatibility — check before buying:
This is a 60 Hz panel with a 5 ms grey-to-grey response and no published adaptive-sync support — no FreeSync, no G-SYNC certification. It is not a gaming monitor and should not be bought as one. HDR is HDR10 signal support without a VESA DisplayHDR certification, and with 300 cd/m² typical brightness and a 1000:1 contrast ratio, HDR content will be accepted rather than shown with real impact. On the connectivity side, the 90 W Power Delivery is the headline and is genuine, but check your laptop’s charging requirement: a machine that wants more than 90 W will charge slowly under load. LG does not state the HDMI version on this model’s specification page, so if you are connecting something that needs a specific HDMI generation, tell us and we will confirm before you order.
Best For
✓ Laptop docking — one cable for video, data and 90 W charging
✓ Office and home-office desks that want 4K detail
✓ Photo and document work needing 90% DCI-P3
✓ Setups with no room for external speakers
✓ Ergonomic setups — height, tilt, swivel and pivot
✓ Two-screen desks where a second input is needed
Key Features
One cable does video, data and 90 W charging
The USB-C port carries 3840 × 2160 at 60 Hz over DisplayPort Alt Mode, feeds the two USB-A downstream ports, and delivers 90 W back to the laptop. That single connection replaces a dock for most machines and is the main reason to choose this monitor over a cheaper 4K panel.
4K on 27 inches, at 90% DCI-P3
3840 × 2160 on a 27-inch IPS panel puts roughly 163 pixels per inch on the desk — text is noticeably cleaner than QHD at this size. Colour coverage is 90% DCI-P3 typical (86% minimum) with 1.07 billion colours, which is enough for serious photo and layout work.
Speakers that are actually there
5 W per channel with Waves MaxxAudio processing. They will not replace desk speakers, but for calls, video and background listening they mean one fewer thing on the desk and one fewer cable behind it.
A stand that moves in every direction
150 mm of height adjustment, -5° to 21° tilt, 45° of swivel each way and pivot to portrait. Full ergonomic adjustment is not a given at this price, and it is what makes a monitor comfortable over an eight-hour day. VESA 100 × 100 if you prefer an arm.
Technical Specifications
| Identification |
| Brand |
LG |
| Series |
UltraFine |
| Model |
27U730A |
| Part Number |
27U730A-B.AEU |
| EAN / GTIN |
8806096506806 |
| Panel |
| Size |
27 inches (68.4 cm) |
| Panel technology |
IPS |
| Aspect ratio |
16:9 |
| Resolution |
4K UHD 3840 × 2160 |
| Refresh rate |
60 Hz |
| Response time |
5 ms GtG in Faster mode |
| Brightness |
300 cd/m² typical, 240 cd/m² minimum |
| Contrast ratio |
1000:1 typical |
| Colour gamut |
90% DCI-P3 typical (CIE1976), 86% minimum |
| Colour depth |
1.07 billion colours — 8-bit native with FRC |
| HDR |
HDR10 signal support — no VESA DisplayHDR certification |
| Adaptive sync |
Not published by LG for this model |
| Connectivity |
| HDMI |
2 × — LG does not state the HDMI version on this model’s specification page |
| DisplayPort |
1 × DisplayPort 1.4 |
| USB-C |
1 × with 90 W Power Delivery and DisplayPort Alt Mode, 3840 × 2160 at 60 Hz |
| USB hub |
2 × USB-A 3.2 Gen 1 downstream |
| Audio out |
3.5 mm 3-pole headphone jack |
| Speakers |
2 × 5 W with Waves MaxxAudio |
| Stand & physical |
| Height adjustment |
150 mm |
| Tilt |
-5° to +21° |
| Swivel |
-45° to +45° |
| Pivot |
Yes — LG does not state the angle |
| VESA mount |
100 × 100 mm |
| Dimensions with stand |
613.5 × 539.2 × 253.2 mm |
| Dimensions without stand |
613.5 × 363.5 × 45.4 mm |
| Weight |
7.7 kg with stand, 5.1 kg without |
| Power |
External adapter, 100–240 V, 50/60 Hz |
| In the box |
Monitor, stand, 2 × HDMI cable (1.5 m), 1 × USB-C cable, power adapter. |
| Energy (EU declaration) |
| EPREL registration |
2310473 |
| Energy class SDR |
F |
| Energy class HDR |
G |
| On-mode power, SDR |
25.9 W |
| On-mode power, HDR |
26.9 W |
| HDR implemented |
Yes |
| Warranty |
| Warranty |
1-Year Warranty (Singular) |
| Manufacturer Term |
LG does not state a warranty term in years on this model’s own product or support pages; its EU energy-label declaration for this model records a 1-year general guarantee, alongside an 8-year commitment for spare parts and software support, which is a support-availability figure rather than a warranty. Singular’s direct warranty is 1 year; beyond that we assist you with the manufacturer’s warranty process for its full duration. |
Frequently Asked Questions
Will one USB-C cable really run and charge my laptop?
That is what the port is for: 4K at 60 Hz, the USB hub, and 90 W of charging over a single connection. Two conditions apply — your laptop’s USB-C port must support DisplayPort Alt Mode, and 90 W must be enough for it. A thin-and-light machine will charge comfortably; a large workstation laptop that ships with a 130 W or 180 W adapter will charge slowly while working hard. Tell us your laptop model and we will confirm.
Is this any good for gaming?
Not really, and it is not meant to be. It runs at 60 Hz with a 5 ms grey-to-grey response and LG publishes no adaptive-sync support for it. Games will look sharp and run fine for slower titles, but anything competitive wants a high-refresh panel. If gaming is the priority, ask us for an UltraGear instead.
Does the HDR actually do anything?
It accepts an HDR10 signal, which means HDR content will display rather than be refused. What it does not have is a VESA DisplayHDR certification, and with 300 cd/m² typical brightness and 1000:1 contrast the effect is modest. Buy this monitor for the 4K resolution, the colour coverage and the USB-C dock, not for HDR.
Can I mount it on an arm?
Yes — the mount is VESA 100 × 100 mm and the stand detaches. That said, the supplied stand already offers 150 mm of height, tilt, swivel and pivot, which covers most of what an arm is bought for. An arm is worth it mainly if you want the desk space underneath or a very specific position.
Singular Expert Insight
Judge this monitor on the USB-C port, because that is what you are paying for. A 4K 27-inch IPS panel is not unusual; one that also charges a laptop at 90 W, feeds a USB hub and has real speakers and a fully adjustable stand replaces a separate dock, and that is where the money goes. What you give up is anything gaming-related — 60 Hz, 5 ms, no adaptive sync — and HDR that is nominal rather than certified. Both are the right trade for a work desk and the wrong one for a games room. The 90 W figure is the number to check against your own laptop before ordering; send us the model and we will tell you honestly whether it will keep up. More options are in our
PC monitors section, and
docking stations is the alternative if your laptop needs more power than this can supply.
Buyer’s Guide
Buy it if
You want a 4K work monitor that doubles as a laptop dock, charging at 90 W over the same cable that carries the picture. The fully adjustable stand, the USB hub and the built-in speakers together clear a lot of clutter off a desk.
Skip it if
You game seriously — 60 Hz with no adaptive sync is the wrong panel. Skip it too if your laptop needs more than 90 W to charge under load, or if you were buying it for HDR, which here is signal support rather than a certified experience.
Also consider
An LG UltraGear if refresh rate matters more than resolution, or a Thunderbolt docking station alongside a plain 4K monitor if your laptop needs more charging power than 90 W.