Special B2B pricing available after sign-in

Seagate Expansion Desktop STKP6000400 6TB 3.5 inch External Hard Drive USB 3.0 Mains Powered Black

Brand:
Seagate
Seagate Expansion STKP6000400 Hard drive 6 TB STKP6000400
Seagate Expansion Desktop STKP6000400 6TB 3.5 inch External Hard Drive USB 3.0 Mains Powered Black
€365.7 inc. VAT
Buy
STKP6000400
€307.31 €341.46
€365.70 inc. VAT
Ships from EU stock: 126 item(s)
Product Code
CB74312
EAN Code
3660619040414
Manufacturer
Seagate

Quick Specs

Capacity
6TB external desktop HDD
Interface
USB 3.0, micro-B port
Power
Mains — 18 W adapter included
File System
exFAT, Windows and Mac ready
Delivery

Order Today...
Ships...
Delivery...
ℹ️ Large or fragile items (e.g. monitors) may require extra handling time. We'll keep you informed.
Payment options
✓ Bank Deposit
Secure checkout with flexible payment methods
Trusted Tech Choice
Buying Benefits Verified
Competitive EU pricing
Delivered to Cyprus from EU stock
Local warranty support

Seagate Expansion Desktop 6TB — STKP6000400 External Hard Drive

6TB USB 3.0Mains Powered — 18 W Adapter IncludedexFAT for Windows and MacToolkit Backup Software

The Seagate STKP6000400 is a 6 TB desktop external hard drive — a 3.5-inch drive in a mains-powered enclosure, connected over USB 3.0, for anyone who needs bulk capacity beside a computer rather than in a bag. Seagate lists it under part number STKP6000400 with EAN 3660619040414 and UPC 763649160640; the EAN on this listing is 3660619040414. Seagate calls the product simply the Expansion desktop drive. It ships preformatted exFAT so it mounts on both Windows and macOS without setup, with an 18-inch USB 3.0 cable, an 18 W power adapter, Seagate Toolkit backup software and Rescue Data Recovery Services included. Typically in stock with fast delivery across Cyprus.

Compatibility — check before buying:
This is a desktop drive, not a portable one, and it needs mains power. A 3.5-inch enclosure cannot run from a USB port: the 18 W adapter in the box is required, and Seagate’s manual instructs you to connect it to a live outlet before use. Any listing implying USB-only power is wrong. The port on the drive is USB micro-B, and only a micro-B to USB-A cable is supplied — a USB-C-only laptop needs an adapter or its own cable. On the interface name: Seagate calls it USB 3.0; retailers often write USB 3.2 Gen 1 Type-A, which is the same 5 Gbps specification under a later naming scheme rather than a different product. The drive arrives formatted exFAT, which reads and writes on both Windows and macOS, but Seagate notes exFAT is not recommended for built-in backup utilities such as Time Machine or File History — reformat to APFS or HFS+ if you want to use Time Machine. Note also that the Expansion line has no hardware encryption and no password protection; those belong to Seagate’s One Touch and Ultra Touch families, and marketing copy is frequently copied across between them. Two things Seagate does not publish for this product: a transfer-speed figure, and whether the drive inside the enclosure uses CMR or SMR recording. We do not state either, because the manufacturer does not.

Best For

✓ Bulk archive and media libraries kept beside a desktop or a TV
✓ Scheduled local backups using the bundled Seagate Toolkit software
✓ Offloading a full internal drive without opening the computer
✓ Shared Windows and Mac households — it ships exFAT
✓ Capacity per euro, where one large enclosure beats several small drives
✓ Anyone who wants a data-recovery safety net included

Key Features

 
6TB in a single desktop enclosure
A 3.5-inch mechanism in a mains-powered case measuring 178.75 x 41.90 x 125 mm and weighing 1.176 kg. It connects over USB 3.0 with the supplied 18-inch cable, and the 18 W adapter is included in the box. Nothing needs installing to start using it, and the enclosure is identical across the whole Expansion Desktop range from 4 TB upwards.
 
Ready for Windows and macOS out of the box
The drive is preformatted exFAT, which both operating systems read and write, so it works the moment you plug it in with no reformatting. If you want to use it as a Time Machine target on a Mac, Seagate notes that exFAT is not recommended for built-in backup utilities, so a reformat to APFS or HFS+ is the step to take — plain file storage needs nothing.
 
Toolkit backup software and Rescue included
Seagate Toolkit is bundled for scheduled and mirrored backups, and Rescue Data Recovery Services are included with the product. Two caveats worth knowing: Seagate’s current datasheet lists Rescue for this drive but does not state a term in years, and its own footnote adds that Rescue Data Recovery Services are not available in all countries — so confirm availability rather than assuming coverage.

Technical Specifications

Identification
Brand Seagate
Series Expansion
Product Name Seagate Expansion desktop drive — Seagate’s own product-type term is Desktop Drive, not One Touch or Ultra Touch
Part Number STKP6000400
MPN STKP6000400
EAN / GTIN 3660619040414 (Seagate datasheet and EU price list). The EAN on this listing is 3660619040414
UPC 763649160640
Drive and Interface
Capacity 6TB
Internal or External External, desktop
Form Factor 3.5-inch drive in an external enclosure
Interface USB 3.0 — Seagate’s own wording; the same 5 Gbps specification that retailers often call USB 3.2 Gen 1
Port on Drive USB micro-B
Cable Included 18-inch (45.72 cm) USB 3.0 cable, micro-B to USB-A
USB-C A micro-B to USB-C cable is not included
Recording Technology Not disclosed by Seagate for the drive inside this enclosure — neither CMR nor SMR is published, so neither is claimed here
Transfer Speed Not published by Seagate
Cache / Rotational Speed Not published by Seagate for external drives
Power and Physical
Power Mains powered — an 18 W power adapter is included and required; this drive is not bus-powered
Dimensions 178.75 x 41.90 x 125 mm
Weight 1.176 kg
Retail Box 218 x 212 x 77 mm, 1.342 kg
Colour Black
Software and File System
File System exFAT out of the box — readable and writable on both Windows and macOS
macOS Note Seagate notes exFAT is not recommended for built-in backup utilities such as Time Machine; reformat to APFS (macOS 11 and later) or HFS+ (10.15 and earlier) for that use
Bundled Software Seagate Toolkit backup software
Hardware Encryption None — the Expansion family does not include it; One Touch and Ultra Touch are the encrypted lines
Services and Support
In the Box Expansion desktop drive, 18-inch USB 3.0 cable, 18 W power adapter, quick start guide
Rescue Data Recovery Included per Seagate’s datasheet, which does not state a term in years. Seagate’s footnote adds that Rescue Data Recovery Services are not available in all countries
Warranty 1-Year Warranty (Singular)
Manufacturer Term ⚠ Seagate publishes different terms by region for this same part number: 1 year in AMER, 2 years in EMEA, 3 years in APAC. The EMEA figure is the one that applies here, and a US-sourced listing quoting 1 year understates it. Singular’s direct warranty is 1 year; beyond that we assist you with the manufacturer’s warranty process for its full duration.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does the STKP6000400 need a power adapter?
Yes. It is a 3.5-inch desktop drive, and the 18 W mains adapter in the box is required — a USB port cannot supply enough power for a drive of this class. Seagate’s manual is explicit about connecting the power supply to a live outlet. If you need something that runs from the USB port alone, that means a 2.5-inch portable drive, which tops out at much lower capacities.
Will it work with my USB-C laptop?
Yes, but not with the cable in the box. The port on the drive is USB micro-B and Seagate supplies a micro-B to USB-A cable only. You will need a USB-C adapter or your own micro-B to USB-C cable. The interface itself is USB 3.0, the same 5 Gbps specification some retailers label USB 3.2 Gen 1 — different name, same speed.
Does it work on a Mac, and do I need to reformat it?
It works on a Mac as shipped. The drive is preformatted exFAT, which macOS and Windows both read and write, so plain file storage needs no reformatting at all. The one case where you do need to reformat is Time Machine: Seagate explicitly says exFAT is not recommended for built-in backup utilities, so an APFS or HFS+ format is required for that.
Is the drive inside CMR or SMR?
Seagate does not say, and neither will we. Neither the datasheet nor the product manual for the Expansion desktop range discloses the recording technology of the mechanism inside the enclosure. Listings that state CMR or SMR for an external Expansion drive are sourcing that from teardown reports rather than from the manufacturer. If recording technology is a requirement for your use, an internal drive such as IronWolf or BarraCuda publishes it explicitly.
Singular Expert Insight
Expansion is the plain-capacity line, and that is the right way to buy it. There is no hardware encryption here and no password protection — those belong to Seagate’s One Touch and Ultra Touch families — so what you are paying for is 6TB in one mains-powered box with backup software and a recovery service attached. At this capacity that is usually the cheapest route to bulk archive storage, and considerably tidier than several smaller drives with several power bricks. Two honest caveats: it is a desktop unit, so it stays on the desk and needs an outlet; and Seagate does not publish the recording technology of the mechanism inside, which matters if you were planning to shuck it for a NAS. If a NAS is where this is really heading, buy a drive built for it from our NAS hard drives range instead. For something you carry rather than park, our external hard drives range includes bus-powered portable models.

Buyer’s Guide

Buy it if

You want a large single-drive external capacity beside a desktop, with no setup: 6TB, exFAT out of the box for both Windows and Mac, Toolkit backup software, an 18 W adapter and cable in the box, and Rescue Data Recovery included. In EMEA Seagate publishes a 2-year manufacturer term for this part.

Skip it if

You need something portable or bus-powered — this is a mains-only desktop unit weighing 1.176 kg. Skip it too if your laptop is USB-C only and you would rather not source a cable, if you need hardware encryption, which the Expansion line does not have, or if you intend to shuck it for a NAS, since Seagate does not disclose whether the mechanism is CMR or SMR.

Also consider

STKP8000400, STKP10000400 and larger capacities up to 28 TB use the identical enclosure — only the capacity and the barcode change. Seagate One Touch or Ultra Touch if you want hardware encryption or a more finished design, and a bus-powered 2.5-inch portable drive if it needs to travel. For a NAS or a server, IronWolf and Exos publish their recording technology and workload ratings, none of which Seagate publishes for an external Expansion drive.

Features - Seagate - STKP6000400

Form Factor
  • 3.5",
  • External
Colour
black
Interface
  • USB3.0
More Details
Product Code
CB74312
EAN Code
3660619040414
Manufacturer
Seagate
Technical specifications
Capacity
6TB
  • Recently Viewed
  • Customers Also Bought
 
Why Buy from Singular

Trusted by businesses across Cyprus

Genuine products, EU stock, and expert support for every purchase.
✓ Genuine Products
Sourced through official distribution channels, with full manufacturer warranty.
✓ EU Stock
Shipped from our EU distribution network, with real-time availability on every product.
✓ B2B Ready
VAT invoices for business deduction and credit terms for verified buyers.
Expert Support
Talk to our team for sizing, configuration or volume orders.