Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 50 — 128GB Hardware-Encrypted USB Type-A Drive
XTS-AES 256-bit hardware encryption250 MB/s read, 180 MB/s writeAdmin, User and Recovery passwordsIPX8 water resistant
The Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 50 (IKVP50/128GB) is a 128GB USB Type-A flash drive with XTS-AES 256-bit encryption built into the drive’s own controller rather than run by software on the computer. You unlock it through a small launcher that lives on a read-only partition of the drive itself, so nothing is installed on the host machine and no admin rights are needed. It is the drive to reach for when a laptop leaves the office with client files on it and you want the loss to be an inconvenience rather than a data-breach notification.
Compatibility — check before buying:
This drive is FIPS 197 certified, not FIPS 140 validated. FIPS 197 certifies the AES algorithm; it is not the NIST CMVP module validation that public-sector and regulated tenders usually mean when they write “FIPS”. Kingston holds no CMVP certificate for the Vault Privacy 50 family — if your tender requires a certificate number, look at the IronKey Keypad 200 (CMVP #5133) or the IronKey D500S (CMVP #5029) instead. Kingston lists Windows 11, Windows 10 and macOS 12.x to 15.x as the supported systems; Linux is not on that list. This is the Type-A model — it will not fit a USB-C-only laptop or phone without an adapter, and the IKVP50C is the other connector. Kingston does not state what else is in the box beyond the drive.
Best For
✓ Laptop bags that leave the building
✓ Client, HR and legal files on the move
✓ Companies that cannot install software on endpoints
✓ Handing files to an external accountant or auditor
✓ Replacing an unencrypted stick after an incident
✓ Windows and macOS fleets, mixed
Key Features
Encryption that does not depend on the PC
The AES engine sits on the drive. The computer only ever sees an unlocked disk, so nothing needs installing, no drivers load and there is no software licence to renew.
Three ways in, deliberately
You can set an Admin password, a User password and a One-Time Recovery password. If a user forgets theirs, the Admin or the Recovery password gets the data back — without one of those, ten wrong tries crypto-erase the drive permanently.
Passwords or passphrases
Complex mode takes 6 to 16 characters using three of the four character types. Passphrase mode takes 10 to 64 characters, including non-English ones, which is far easier to remember and harder to shoulder-surf.
250 MB/s, and IPX8
Kingston rates this capacity at 250 MB/s read and 180 MB/s write over USB 3.2 Gen 1, and the drive is IPX8 rated for water immersion to 4 ft with the cap on.
Technical Specifications
| Identification |
| Brand |
Kingston |
| Series |
IronKey Vault Privacy 50 |
| Part Number |
IKVP50/128GB |
| EAN / GTIN |
0740617329131 |
| Product Type |
Hardware-encrypted USB flash drive |
| Capacity & Performance |
| Capacity |
128GB |
| Interface |
USB 3.2 Gen 1, Type-A |
| Sequential Read |
250 MB/s |
| Sequential Write |
180 MB/s |
| Speed basis |
Kingston publishes 250/180 MB/s as the band covering 16 GB to 128 GB, not a per-capacity measurement |
| On a USB 2.0 port |
30 MB/s read, 20 MB/s write |
| Security |
| Encryption |
XTS-AES 256-bit, hardware-based |
| Certification |
FIPS 197 — algorithm certification only, no NIST CMVP module validation |
| Independent testing |
Penetration tested by SySS GmbH |
| Passwords |
Admin, User and One-Time Recovery |
| Complex mode |
6 to 16 characters, three of four character types |
| Passphrase mode |
10 to 64 characters |
| Brute-force response |
10 consecutive failures lock out or crypto-erase, depending on which password failed |
| Software required |
None — launcher runs from a read-only partition on the drive |
| Compatibility |
| Operating systems |
Windows 11, Windows 10, macOS 12.x to 15.x |
| Linux |
Not listed by Kingston as a supported system |
| Admin rights on host |
Not required |
| Physical & Environmental |
| Dimensions |
77.92 x 21.94 x 12.00 mm |
| Weight |
Kingston does not state a weight |
| Ingress protection |
IPX8 — water resistant to 4 ft with the cap fitted |
| Operating temperature |
0 to 50 °C |
| Storage temperature |
-20 to 85 °C |
| Warranty & Support |
| Warranty |
1-Year Warranty (Singular) |
| Manufacturer Term |
Kingston publishes a limited 5-year warranty with free technical support on this model, in both its EU and global documentation. Singular’s direct warranty is 1 year; beyond that we assist you with the manufacturer’s warranty process for its full duration. |
Frequently Asked Questions
Does this meet a tender that asks for FIPS?
It depends which FIPS. The Vault Privacy 50 is FIPS 197 certified, which covers the AES algorithm. It does not hold a FIPS 140-2 or FIPS 140-3 module validation and there is no NIST CMVP certificate number for it. If the tender wants a certificate number against the part number, choose the IronKey Keypad 200 (CMVP #5133) or the IronKey D500S (CMVP #5029). Send us the wording and we will tell you which one satisfies it.
What is the difference between the IKVP50/128GB and the IKVP50C version?
Only the plug. Vault Privacy 50 is Type-A; the other model is the opposite connector. Kingston publishes identical speeds, capacities, security features, dimensions and warranty for both. Buy on the port you actually have — one character in the part number is the whole difference.
Will it work on Linux?
Kingston does not list Linux among the supported systems for this drive; the published list is Windows 11, Windows 10 and macOS 12.x to 15.x. There is Linux material on Kingston’s support site but it is not part of the formal compatibility statement, so we do not sell it as a Linux drive. If you need encrypted storage that Kingston does support on Linux, ask us about the IronKey D500S.
What if we forget the password?
If an Admin password or a One-Time Recovery password was set up beforehand, either one restores access. If only a single User password exists, ten consecutive wrong attempts crypto-erase the drive and the data is gone for good — there is no back door and Kingston cannot recover it. Set the Admin password when you first configure the drive.
Singular Expert Insight
The honest way to place this drive: it is the everyday encrypted stick, not the compliance one. XTS-AES 256-bit in hardware, three password roles, a recovery path, 250 MB/s and an IPX8 body cover almost every real office scenario — a lawyer carrying case files, an accountant taking a client’s books home, an engineer moving drawings. Where it stops is the paperwork: FIPS 197 is an algorithm certificate, and an auditor who asks for a CMVP number will not accept it. That is not a flaw in the drive, it is a different product tier, and the Keypad 200 is where that tier starts. The other thing worth saying plainly is that the recovery password is not optional in practice. Drives come back to us wiped because someone set a single user password, forgot it, and tried eleven times.
Buyer’s Guide
Buy it if
You want strong hardware encryption on Windows and macOS with no software to install, and you want a recovery path if a user forgets their password.
Skip it if
Your tender or auditor asks for FIPS 140-2 or 140-3 with a CMVP certificate number — this drive is FIPS 197 only. Also skip it if your machines run Linux, which Kingston does not list as supported.
Also consider
IronKey Keypad 200 for FIPS 140-3 Level 3 with a keypad and no software at all, or IronKey D500S for FIPS 140-3 with Linux support and a 128-character passphrase.