Special B2B pricing available after sign-in

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 50 IKVP50/16GB Encrypted USB Flash Drive 16GB USB 3.2 Gen 1 Type-A XTS-AES 256-bit

Brand:
Kingston
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 50 Series USB flash IKVP50 16GB
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 50 IKVP50/16GB Encrypted USB Flash Drive 16GB USB 3.2 Gen 1 Type-A XTS-AES 256-bit
€122.75 inc. VAT
Buy
IKVP50/16GB
€103.15
€122.75 inc. VAT
Ships from EU stock: 12 item(s)
Product Code
03:196179
EAN Code
0740617329001
Manufacturer
Kingston

Quick Specs

Capacity
16GB
Encryption
XTS-AES 256-bit hardware (FIPS 197)
Sequential Read
250 MB/s
Interface
USB 3.2 Gen 1 Type-A
Delivery

Order Today...
Ships...
Delivery...
ℹ️ Large or fragile items (e.g. monitors) may require extra handling time. We'll keep you informed.
Payment options
✓ Bank Deposit
Secure checkout with flexible payment methods
Trusted Tech Choice
Buying Benefits Verified
Competitive EU pricing
Delivered to Cyprus from EU stock
Local warranty support

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 50 — 16GB Hardware-Encrypted USB Type-A Drive

XTS-AES 256-bit hardware encryption250 MB/s read, 180 MB/s writeAdmin, User and Recovery passwordsIPX8 water resistant

The Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 50 (IKVP50/16GB) is a 16GB USB Type-A flash drive with XTS-AES 256-bit encryption built into the drive’s own controller rather than run by software on the computer. You unlock it through a small launcher that lives on a read-only partition of the drive itself, so nothing is installed on the host machine and no admin rights are needed. It is the drive to reach for when a laptop leaves the office with client files on it and you want the loss to be an inconvenience rather than a data-breach notification.

Compatibility — check before buying:
This drive is FIPS 197 certified, not FIPS 140 validated. FIPS 197 certifies the AES algorithm; it is not the NIST CMVP module validation that public-sector and regulated tenders usually mean when they write “FIPS”. Kingston holds no CMVP certificate for the Vault Privacy 50 family — if your tender requires a certificate number, look at the IronKey Keypad 200 (CMVP #5133) or the IronKey D500S (CMVP #5029) instead. Kingston lists Windows 11, Windows 10 and macOS 12.x to 15.x as the supported systems; Linux is not on that list. This is the Type-A model — it will not fit a USB-C-only laptop or phone without an adapter, and the IKVP50C is the other connector. Kingston does not state what else is in the box beyond the drive.

Best For

✓ Laptop bags that leave the building
✓ Client, HR and legal files on the move
✓ Companies that cannot install software on endpoints
✓ Handing files to an external accountant or auditor
✓ Replacing an unencrypted stick after an incident
✓ Windows and macOS fleets, mixed

Key Features

 
Encryption that does not depend on the PC
The AES engine sits on the drive. The computer only ever sees an unlocked disk, so nothing needs installing, no drivers load and there is no software licence to renew.
 
Three ways in, deliberately
You can set an Admin password, a User password and a One-Time Recovery password. If a user forgets theirs, the Admin or the Recovery password gets the data back — without one of those, ten wrong tries crypto-erase the drive permanently.
 
Passwords or passphrases
Complex mode takes 6 to 16 characters using three of the four character types. Passphrase mode takes 10 to 64 characters, including non-English ones, which is far easier to remember and harder to shoulder-surf.
 
250 MB/s, and IPX8
Kingston rates this capacity at 250 MB/s read and 180 MB/s write over USB 3.2 Gen 1, and the drive is IPX8 rated for water immersion to 4 ft with the cap on.

Technical Specifications

Identification
Brand Kingston
Series IronKey Vault Privacy 50
Part Number IKVP50/16GB
EAN / GTIN 0740617329001
Product Type Hardware-encrypted USB flash drive
Capacity & Performance
Capacity 16GB
Interface USB 3.2 Gen 1, Type-A
Sequential Read 250 MB/s
Sequential Write 180 MB/s
Speed basis Kingston publishes 250/180 MB/s as the band covering 16 GB to 128 GB, not a per-capacity measurement
On a USB 2.0 port 30 MB/s read, 20 MB/s write
Security
Encryption XTS-AES 256-bit, hardware-based
Certification FIPS 197 — algorithm certification only, no NIST CMVP module validation
Independent testing Penetration tested by SySS GmbH
Passwords Admin, User and One-Time Recovery
Complex mode 6 to 16 characters, three of four character types
Passphrase mode 10 to 64 characters
Brute-force response 10 consecutive failures lock out or crypto-erase, depending on which password failed
Software required None — launcher runs from a read-only partition on the drive
Compatibility
Operating systems Windows 11, Windows 10, macOS 12.x to 15.x
Linux Not listed by Kingston as a supported system
Admin rights on host Not required
Physical & Environmental
Dimensions 77.92 x 21.94 x 12.00 mm
Weight Kingston does not state a weight
Ingress protection IPX8 — water resistant to 4 ft with the cap fitted
Operating temperature 0 to 50 °C
Storage temperature -20 to 85 °C
Warranty & Support
Warranty 1-Year Warranty (Singular)
Manufacturer Term Kingston publishes a limited 5-year warranty with free technical support on this model, in both its EU and global documentation. Singular’s direct warranty is 1 year; beyond that we assist you with the manufacturer’s warranty process for its full duration.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does this meet a tender that asks for FIPS?
It depends which FIPS. The Vault Privacy 50 is FIPS 197 certified, which covers the AES algorithm. It does not hold a FIPS 140-2 or FIPS 140-3 module validation and there is no NIST CMVP certificate number for it. If the tender wants a certificate number against the part number, choose the IronKey Keypad 200 (CMVP #5133) or the IronKey D500S (CMVP #5029). Send us the wording and we will tell you which one satisfies it.
What is the difference between the IKVP50/16GB and the IKVP50C version?
Only the plug. Vault Privacy 50 is Type-A; the other model is the opposite connector. Kingston publishes identical speeds, capacities, security features, dimensions and warranty for both. Buy on the port you actually have — one character in the part number is the whole difference.
Will it work on Linux?
Kingston does not list Linux among the supported systems for this drive; the published list is Windows 11, Windows 10 and macOS 12.x to 15.x. There is Linux material on Kingston’s support site but it is not part of the formal compatibility statement, so we do not sell it as a Linux drive. If you need encrypted storage that Kingston does support on Linux, ask us about the IronKey D500S.
What if we forget the password?
If an Admin password or a One-Time Recovery password was set up beforehand, either one restores access. If only a single User password exists, ten consecutive wrong attempts crypto-erase the drive and the data is gone for good — there is no back door and Kingston cannot recover it. Set the Admin password when you first configure the drive.
Singular Expert Insight
The honest way to place this drive: it is the everyday encrypted stick, not the compliance one. XTS-AES 256-bit in hardware, three password roles, a recovery path, 250 MB/s and an IPX8 body cover almost every real office scenario — a lawyer carrying case files, an accountant taking a client’s books home, an engineer moving drawings. Where it stops is the paperwork: FIPS 197 is an algorithm certificate, and an auditor who asks for a CMVP number will not accept it. That is not a flaw in the drive, it is a different product tier, and the Keypad 200 is where that tier starts. The other thing worth saying plainly is that the recovery password is not optional in practice. Drives come back to us wiped because someone set a single user password, forgot it, and tried eleven times.

Buyer’s Guide

Buy it if

You want strong hardware encryption on Windows and macOS with no software to install, and you want a recovery path if a user forgets their password.

Skip it if

Your tender or auditor asks for FIPS 140-2 or 140-3 with a CMVP certificate number — this drive is FIPS 197 only. Also skip it if your machines run Linux, which Kingston does not list as supported.

Also consider

IronKey Keypad 200 for FIPS 140-3 Level 3 with a keypad and no software at all, or IronKey D500S for FIPS 140-3 with Linux support and a 128-character passphrase.

Features - Kingston - IKVP50/16GB

Interface
  • USB3.2
More Details
Product Code
03:196179
EAN Code
0740617329001
Manufacturer
Kingston
Technical specifications
Capacity
16GB
  • Recently Viewed
  • Customers Also Bought
 
Why Buy from Singular

Trusted by businesses across Cyprus

Genuine products, EU stock, and expert support for every purchase.
✓ Genuine Products
Sourced through official distribution channels, with full manufacturer warranty.
✓ EU Stock
Shipped from our EU distribution network, with real-time availability on every product.
✓ B2B Ready
VAT invoices for business deduction and credit terms for verified buyers.
Expert Support
Talk to our team for sizing, configuration or volume orders.