Special B2B pricing available after sign-in

Seagate IronWolf ST4000VN006 4TB 3.5 inch SATA 6Gb/s NAS Hard Drive CMR 5400RPM 256MB Rescue

Brand:
Seagate
Seagate IronWolf ST4000VN006 Hard drive 4 TB ST4000VN006
Seagate IronWolf ST4000VN006 4TB 3.5 inch SATA 6Gb/s NAS Hard Drive CMR 5400RPM 256MB Rescue
€255.7 inc. VAT
Buy
ST4000VN006
€214.87 €238.75
€255.70 inc. VAT
Ships from EU stock: 44 item(s)
Product Code
03:263200
EAN Code
7636490078309
Manufacturer
Seagate

Quick Specs

Capacity
4TB 3.5" SATA 6Gb/s
NAS Rating
Up to 8 bays, 180 TB/year
Endurance
1M-hour MTBF, 24x7 rated
Recording
CMR, 256MB cache
Delivery

Order Today...
Ships...
Delivery...
ℹ️ Large or fragile items (e.g. monitors) may require extra handling time. We'll keep you informed.
Payment options
✓ Bank Deposit
Secure checkout with flexible payment methods
Trusted Tech Choice
Buying Benefits Verified
Competitive EU pricing
Delivered to Cyprus from EU stock
Local warranty support

Seagate IronWolf 4TB — ST4000VN006 NAS Hard Drive

4TB 3.5" SATA 6Gb/sUp to 8 Drive Bays180 TB/Year, 24x7CMR with RV Sensors

The Seagate ST4000VN006 is a 4 TB 3.5-inch IronWolf NAS hard drive for small and mid-sized network storage that runs continuously — rated for a 180 TB annual workload across 8760 power-on hours, in enclosures of up to eight drive bays. Seagate lists it under part number ST4000VN006; the EAN on this listing is 7636490078309, which matches the EAN Seagate prints in its own EU price list exactly. It is a conventional-recording (CMR) drive at 5400 RPM with a 256 MB cache, rotational vibration sensors and AgileArray firmware, and it ships with three years of Rescue Data Recovery Services. This is the 5400 RPM, 256 MB member of the 4 TB IronWolf range — not to be confused with the ST4000VN008, which is a different drive at the same capacity. Typically in stock with fast delivery across Cyprus.

Compatibility — check before buying:
This is IronWolf, not IronWolf Pro, and the gap between them is the thing to understand before buying. IronWolf is rated at 180 TB per year with a 1,000,000-hour MTBF, a 0.87% annualised failure rate and a ceiling of eight drive bays. IronWolf Pro is rated at 550 TB per year, 2,000,000 to 2,500,000 hours depending on capacity, and unlimited bays. The warranty differs too: three years here against five on Pro. Listings that quote 300 TB per year, 1.2 million hours or "up to 24 bays" against an IronWolf part are carrying across figures from the Pro range or from its older NE generation. ST4000VN006 and ST4000VN008 are two different 4 TB IronWolf drives, one digit apart. This VN006 runs at 5400 RPM with a 256 MB cache and rotational vibration sensors. The VN008 runs at 5900 RPM with a 64 MB cache. Listings substitute them freely. A second point worth knowing: the unrecoverable read error rate on the non-Pro IronWolf line is one sector per 10E14 bits, an order of magnitude worse than the 10E15 of IronWolf Pro and Exos — that difference matters more than capacity when you are sizing a RAID rebuild. There is also a Frustration-Free Packaging version of this exact drive, the ST4000VNZ06; the Z is packaging only and the drive inside is identical. Two points of accuracy: Rescue Data Recovery is included on current IronWolf drives for three years — older reseller copy claiming non-Pro has no Rescue is out of date — but Seagate’s footnote adds it is not available in all countries. And Seagate does not state whether this drive is helium-filled or air-filled, so we do not claim either.

Best For

✓ Two- to eight-bay NAS enclosures running continuously
✓ Home and small-office file, media and backup servers
✓ RAID sets where rebuild reliability matters — 1 error per 10E15 bits
✓ Multi-drive chassis with vibration — RV sensors are fitted
✓ Media libraries that outgrew a desktop drive
✓ Anyone wanting a NAS-rated drive with data recovery included

Key Features

 
Rated for continuous NAS duty
IronWolf is built for 8760 power-on hours a year at a 180 TB annual workload — a genuine 24x7 rating, unlike desktop drives rated for roughly 2400 hours. AgileArray firmware adds dual-plane balancing, RAID-optimised error recovery and time-limited error recovery, so the drive does not drop out of an array while retrying a sector. IronWolf Health Management reports on prevention, intervention and recovery on supported NAS platforms.
 
Eight bays, with rotational vibration sensors
Seagate rates IronWolf for enclosures of one to eight bays, and this capacity has rotational vibration sensors fitted — not universal in the family, since the 1 TB and 2 TB models lack them. That combination is what makes a four- or six-bay chassis practical without the spindles interfering with each other. Beyond eight bays, IronWolf Pro is the rated product.
 
Three years of Rescue Data Recovery, now included on non-Pro IronWolf
Rescue Data Recovery Services are bundled for three years on this drive. This is worth stating plainly because the older claim that Rescue is an IronWolf Pro exclusive is out of date — Seagate’s current IronWolf datasheet lists three years of Rescue for every capacity in the non-Pro line. If a drive fails, Seagate’s recovery lab attempts the recovery at no charge, once, within the term.
 
Three years of Rescue Data Recovery included
If the drive fails, Seagate’s Rescue service applies its recovery technology and returns what it can retrieve. Current IronWolf drives include three years of it — a change from the older generation, where Rescue was a Pro-only feature, and one that a good deal of reseller copy has not caught up with. Seagate’s footnote states the service is not available in all countries, so confirm availability rather than assuming coverage.

Technical Specifications

Identification
Brand Seagate
Series IronWolf — the non-Pro NAS line
Product Name Seagate IronWolf 4TB NAS Hard Drive
Part Number ST4000VN006
MPN ST4000VN006
EAN / GTIN 7636490078309 — this is the value Seagate prints in its EU price lists. It does not derive from the UPC in the usual way, so some GTIN validators object to it; it is nonetheless the number Seagate publishes
UPC 763649090985
Drive
Capacity 4TB
Form Factor 3.5-inch
Interface SATA 6Gb/s — 600 MB/s maximum interface rate
Recording Technology CMR (conventional magnetic recording) — stated by Seagate; this is not an SMR drive
Drive Design Not stated by Seagate for this model — neither helium nor air is published
Rotational Speed 5400 RPM. This figure comes from the datasheet only — the IronWolf product manual contains no spindle-speed row at all. Listings advertising this part at 7200 RPM are wrong; the 4 TB IronWolf that runs faster is the ST4000VN008, at 5900 RPM
Cache 256 MB
Sustained Transfer Rate 202 MB/s maximum in the datasheet; the product manual writes it as “193 (202MB/s)”, the lower figure being the sustained rate and the higher the peak
Sector Size 512e — 512-byte logical, 4096-byte physical
Heads / Discs 4 heads / 2 discs
Weight 490 g
Height 20.20 mm — not the 26.11 mm of the 6 and 8 TB IronWolf drives; check your caddy or tray if it is a tight fit
NAS Capability
Max Drive Bays Up to 8 — IronWolf Pro is the product rated for more
Rotational Vibration Sensors Yes — note these are not fitted across the whole IronWolf family; the 1 TB and 2 TB models lack them
Firmware AgileArray — dual-plane balancing, RAID-optimised and time-limited error recovery
IronWolf Health Management Yes, on supported NAS platforms
Reliability
Workload Rate Limit 180 TB per year
MTBF 1,000,000 hours
Annualised Failure Rate 0.87%
Unrecoverable Read Errors 1 sector per 10E14 bits read — an order of magnitude worse than the 10E15 of IronWolf Pro and Exos. This is the specification that most separates the non-Pro line
Power-On Hours 8760 per year — rated for 24x7 operation
Power, Acoustics and Environment
Idle Power the datasheet says 3.96 W and the product manual says 3.2 W
Operating Power the datasheet says 4.8 W average and the product manual says 3.7 W — a 20 to 25% disagreement that runs through every power row on this drive
Standby 0.5 W in the datasheet, 0.25 W in the product manual
Acoustics 23 dBA idle, on which every document agrees. Seek is less settled: the current datasheet says 27 dBA, the newest product manual revision says 2.5 bels typical (25 dBA) and an older manual revision says 2.7 bels (27 dBA). Unusually, the newer manual is the quieter figure and the datasheet that post-dates it still says 27
Operating Temperature 0 degrees Celsius ambient to 65 degrees drive-reported
Services and Support
Rescue Data Recovery 3 years included. This is current for IronWolf — older documentation and reseller copy state that only IronWolf Pro carried Rescue. Seagate’s footnote adds that the service is not available in all countries
Warranty 1-Year Warranty (Singular)
Manufacturer Term Seagate publishes a 3-year limited warranty for IronWolf, identical in its AMER and EMEA datasheets — note this is three years, not the five that applies to IronWolf Pro. Singular’s direct warranty is 1 year; beyond that we assist you with the manufacturer’s warranty process for its full duration.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many drive bays does the ST4000VN006 support?
Seagate rates IronWolf for one to eight bays. That is the single most important limit to respect on this drive: beyond eight, the rated product is IronWolf Pro, which Seagate lists as supporting an unlimited number. Rotational vibration sensors are fitted on this capacity, which is what makes a six- or eight-bay chassis workable, but the bay rating is a specification rather than a suggestion.
What is the difference between IronWolf and IronWolf Pro?
Workload, endurance, bays and warranty. IronWolf is rated at 180 TB per year with a 1,000,000-hour MTBF, up to eight bays and a three-year warranty. IronWolf Pro is 550 TB per year, 2,000,000 to 2,500,000 hours depending on capacity, unlimited bays and five years. Both are CMR, both carry rotational vibration sensors at these capacities, and both now include three years of Rescue Data Recovery. For a two- to four-bay box that is mostly reading, IronWolf is correctly matched and cheaper.
Is this a CMR drive or SMR?
CMR. Seagate states conventional magnetic recording for IronWolf explicitly, and the product manual records the recording method as perpendicular. IronWolf has never been an SMR line — the shingled-drive controversy involved Seagate’s desktop BarraCuda models and WD Red non-Pro, and gets misattributed to IronWolf regularly. In a NAS, CMR is what keeps sustained writes and RAID rebuilds predictable.
Does it include Rescue Data Recovery?
Yes, three years. This is worth stating because it changed: older Seagate documentation and a lot of reseller copy say Rescue is an IronWolf Pro feature only, and that was true of the 2019 generation. Current IronWolf datasheets state three years of complimentary Rescue Data Recovery Services. Seagate’s own footnote adds that the service is not available in all countries, so confirm coverage before relying on it.
Singular Expert Insight
IronWolf is the honest choice for a small NAS, and the wrong one for a growing array. What you are buying over a desktop drive is a genuine 24x7 rating, AgileArray firmware that will not drop a drive out of a RAID set mid-recovery, and rotational vibration sensors — all of which matter from the second drive onwards. What you are not buying is headroom: 180 TB a year and an eight-bay ceiling are real specifications, and a busy eight-bay box doing constant writes will sit closer to them than most people expect. The trade-off against IronWolf Pro is concrete: 180 TB a year rather than 550, one to eight bays rather than unlimited, a 1,000,000-hour MTBF rather than 2 million, a three-year warranty rather than five, and a 10E14 error rate rather than 10E15. What you keep is CMR, rotational vibration sensors, AgileArray, IronWolf Health Management and three years of Rescue. Compare the range in our NAS hard drives, and if the destination is a rack rather than a NAS chassis, the enterprise and server hard drives range is where the 550 TB workload ratings live.

Buyer’s Guide

Buy it if

You are filling a two- to eight-bay NAS that runs continuously and you want a drive actually rated for it: 180 TB per year, 8760 power-on hours, CMR, rotational vibration sensors, AgileArray firmware and three years of Rescue Data Recovery included. This one is current in Seagate’s EU price list, which is not true of every drive in the range.

Skip it if

Your enclosure holds more than eight drives, or the array does heavy sustained writing — both are outside what Seagate rates IronWolf for, and IronWolf Pro is the correct tier at 550 TB per year with unlimited bays. Skip it too if the drive is going into a desktop that is off overnight, where a BarraCuda costs less, or into a surveillance recorder, where SkyHawk is the right family.

Also consider

ST4000VN008 is the other 4 TB IronWolf — 5900 RPM, 64 MB cache, no RV sensors. ST4000VNZ06 is this same drive in frustration-free packaging. ST4000NT001 is the IronWolf Pro at this capacity: 7200 RPM, 550 TB a year, a 10E15 error rate and a five-year warranty. For a single-drive desktop rather than a NAS, BarraCuda costs less but is not rated for continuous operation.

Features - Seagate - ST4000VN006

Form Factor
  • 3.5",
  • Internal
Interface
  • SATA
More Details
Product Code
03:263200
EAN Code
7636490078309
Manufacturer
Seagate
Technical specifications
Capacity
4TB
  • Recently Viewed
  • Customers Also Bought
 
Why Buy from Singular

Trusted by businesses across Cyprus

Genuine products, EU stock, and expert support for every purchase.
✓ Genuine Products
Sourced through official distribution channels, with full manufacturer warranty.
✓ EU Stock
Shipped from our EU distribution network, with real-time availability on every product.
✓ B2B Ready
VAT invoices for business deduction and credit terms for verified buyers.
Expert Support
Talk to our team for sizing, configuration or volume orders.